

## **Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability**

## **REGULAR MEETING MINUTES**

## July 19, 2017, 1:30 P.M. Pruitt Suite, 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Student Center Oklahoma State University-Oklahoma City, 900 N. Portland Ave. Oklahoma City, OK 73107

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:	Amy Bixler, Bruce Day, Dr. Bo Hannaford, and Secretary of Education Natalie Shirley
COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:	Doug Brown
OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES:	Office of Educational Quality and Accountability Staff: Dr. Daniel Craig, Angie Bookout, Robert Buswell, Jennifer Gambrell, Renee Launey-Rodolf, Abby Murphey, Lecrecia Schmidt, Jerry Shay, Dr. Kathren Stehno and Jeff Wallace.
VISITORS:	Melissa Michie, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education; Christie Southern, eCapitol; Dr. Deborah White, Randall University; Jerry Mihelic, Oklahoma Panhandle State University; Dr. Wayne Stewart, Oklahoma Panhandle State University; Elaina Stewart, Oklahoma Panhandle State University; Hannah Mihelic, Oklahoma Panhandle State University; Dr. Krista Maxson, University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma; Dr. Brenda Sherbourne, East Central University; Dr. Adrienne Sanogo, Oklahoma State University; Dr. Vicki Ferguson, University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma; Dr. Jeanne Mather, University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma; Dr. Vanessa Anton,

Page 1 of 3

Northeastern State University; Dr. Kim Boyd, Oral Roberts University

Call to Order: Secretary Shirley called the meeting to order at 2:07 P.M.

**Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call:** Secretary Shirley asked for the roll call to be taken. Four Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Dr. Daniel Craig: Dr. Daniel Craig welcomed everyone to the meeting.

**Approval of Minutes from the June 23, 2017 Commission Meeting**: Ms. Bixler made a motion to approve the minutes of the June 23, 2017 Commission meeting as submitted. Dr. Hannaford seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	absent	Secretary Shirley:	approve
Mr. Day:	approve		

**Discussion and action to move Agenda Item F regarding Oklahoma Panhandle State University to Agenda Item E**. Mr. Day made a motion to move Agenda Item F regarding Oklahoma Panhandle State University to Agenda Item E. Dr. Hannaford seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	absent	Secretary Shirley:	approve
Mr. Day:	approve		

**Discussion and action on continued State Accreditation for Oklahoma Panhandle University:** Dr. Hannaford made a motion to continue State Accreditation for Oklahoma Panhandle State University. Mr. Day seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	absent	Secretary Shirley:	approve
Mr. Day:	approve		

**Discussion and action on continued State Accreditation for the University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma:** Dr. Hannaford made a motion to continue State Accreditation for the University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma. Ms. Bixler seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	absent	Secretary Shirley:	approve
Mr. Day:	approve		

Page 2 of 3

**Discussion and action on continued State Accreditation for Randall University:** Ms. Bixler made a motion to continue State Accreditation for Randall University. Dr. Hannaford seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	absent	Secretary Shirley:	approve
Mr. Day:	approve		

**Discussion and action on new certification program area for Oklahoma State University-Masters of Arts in Teaching- Secondary Mathematics:** Dr. Hannaford made a motion to approve a new certification program area for Oklahoma State University Master of Arts in Teaching- Secondary Mathematics. Ms. Bixler seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	absent	Secretary Shirley:	approve
Mr. Day:	approve		

**Quality and Accountability program updates:** State reports, School profile reports, School performance review and Pearson testing company will be providing fee waivers for candidates.

New Business: None

**Announcements and Informational Items:** Dr. Craig made the announcement that Robert Buswell, Dr. Kathren Stehno and Jeff Wallace will be retiring August 1, 2017. The Commission thanked them for their years of service to the Office of Educational Quality and Accountability. August 16, 2017 will be the next Commission Meeting, with cut scores being set.

The meeting adjourned at 2:51 P.M. The minutes of the July 19, 2017 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted

with corrections

on August 16, 2017.

Signed:

Natalie Shirley, Chairman

Dr. Daniel Craig, Executive Director

Page 3 of 3